History log of /illumos-gate/usr/src/uts/common/fs/zfs/vdev_cache.c
Revision Date Author Comments
4d7988d6050abba5c1ff60e7fd196e95c22e20f4 25-Nov-2019 Paul Dagnelie <pcd@delphix.com> 11971 Reduce loaded range tree memory usage
Portions contributed by: Jerry Jelinek <jerry.jelinek@joyent.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <gwilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Matt Ahrens <matt@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Sebastien Roy seb@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <igor@dilos.org>
Reviewed by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Reviewed by: Kody Kantor <kody.kantor@joyent.com>
Reviewed by: Andy Fiddaman <andy@omniosce.org>
Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@joyent.com>
c4ab0d3f46036e85ad0700125c5a83cc139f55a3 23-Apr-2019 Gvozden Neskovic <neskovic@gmail.com> 10809 Performance optimization of AVL tree comparator functions
Portions contributed by: Jerry Jelinek <jerry.jelinek@joyent.com>
Reviewed by: Richard Elling <richard.elling@gmail.com>
Reviewed by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Reviewed by: Toomas Soome <tsoome@me.com>
Reviewed by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
Approved by: Richard Lowe <richlowe@richlowe.net>
770499e185d15678ccb0be57ebc626ad18d93383 17-Apr-2017 Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com> 8021 ARC buf data scatter-ization
8100 8021 seems to cause random BAD TRAP: type=d (#gp General protection)
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens mahrens@delphix.com
Reviewed by: George Wilson george.wilson@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie pcd@delphix.com
Reviewed by: John Kennedy john.kennedy@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Prakash Surya prakash.surya@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Prashanth Sreenivasa pks@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Pavel Zakharov pavel.zakharov@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Chris Williamson chris.williamson@delphix.com
Approved by: Richard Lowe <richlowe@richlowe.net>
4ee0199ec059ca9417a72125beae8d89fbc5a9df 25-Apr-2017 Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com> backout: 8021 ARC buf data scatter-ization (causes 8100)
660946868929e02041af7b5b1c3e14f547c53f11 17-Apr-2017 Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com> 8021 ARC buf data scatter-ization
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens mahrens@delphix.com
Reviewed by: George Wilson george.wilson@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie pcd@delphix.com
Reviewed by: John Kennedy john.kennedy@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Prakash Surya prakash.surya@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Prashanth Sreenivasa pks@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Pavel Zakharov pavel.zakharov@delphix.com
Reviewed by: Chris Williamson chris.williamson@delphix.com
Approved by: Richard Lowe <richlowe@richlowe.net>
0f7643c7376dd69a08acbfc9d1d7d548b10c846a 02-Aug-2016 George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com> 7090 zfs should improve allocation order and throttle allocations
Reviewed by: Adam Leventhal <ahl@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Alex Reece <alex@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie <paul.dagnelie@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Sebastien Roy <sebastien.roy@delphix.com>
Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
1a5e258f5471356ca102c7176637cdce45bac147 08-Aug-2014 Josef 'Jeff' Sipek <josef.sipek@nexenta.com> 5045 use atomic_{inc,dec}_* instead of atomic_add_*
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>
Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
43466aae47bfcd2ad9bf501faec8e75c08095e4f 09-Dec-2013 Max Grossman <max.grossman@delphix.com> 4370 avoid transmitting holes during zfs send
4371 DMU code clean up
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Josef 'Jeff' Sipek <jeffpc@josefsipek.net>
Approved by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>
69962b5647e4a8b9b14998733b765925381b727e 26-Aug-2013 Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com> 4045 zfs write throttle & i/o scheduler performance work
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Adam Leventhal <ahl@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Ned Bass <bass6@llnl.gov>
Reviewed by: Brendan Gregg <brendan.gregg@joyent.com>
Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
be6fd75a69ae679453d9cda5bff3326111e6d1ca 08-Mar-2013 Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com> 3598 want to dtrace when errors are generated in zfs
Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Adam Leventhal <ahl@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
Approved by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>
b68a40a845ce51c92485ada688181ab1de59676f 22-Apr-2011 Garrett D'Amore <garrett@nexenta.com> 175 zfs vdev cache consumes excessive memory
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Eric Schrock <eric.schrock@delphix.com>
Approved by: Richard Lowe <richlowe@richlowe.net>
d3d50737e566cade9a08d73d2af95105ac7cd960 13-Nov-2009 Rafael Vanoni <rafael.vanoni@sun.com> PSARC/2009/396 Tickless Kernel Architecture / lbolt decoupling
6860030 tickless clock requires a clock() decoupled lbolt / lbolt64
Portions contributed by Chad Mynhier <cmynhier@gmail.com>
a3f829ae41ece20e7f5f63604e177aeeb8b24628 28-Jan-2009 Bill Moore <Bill.Moore@Sun.COM> 6798384 It can take a village to raise a zio
88b7b0f29b20b808b9e06071885b1d6a3ddb6328 14-Oct-2008 Matthew Ahrens <Matthew.Ahrens@Sun.COM> 6333409 traversal code should be able to issue multiple reads in parallel
6418042 want traversal in depth-first pre-order for quicker 'zfs send'
6757112 zvol dump code is extra complicated
6725668 want ::zfs_blkstats to show block type stats after scrub
6725675 dmu traverse code has extraneous features
6725680 P2CROSS is confusing to use
6725698 zvol dump device should always be 128k
6729696 sync causes scrub or resilver to pause for up to 30s
6730101 online recv can cause scrub to miss some blocks
6752226 assertion failed in dbuf_verify: db->db.db_size >= dn->dn_datablksz
6577985 panic when zfs send a snapshot with i/o errors
6755042 zdb -Lbc counts block several times in case of checksum errors
e14bb3258d05c1b1077e2db7cf77088924e56919 30-Sep-2008 Jeff Bonwick <Jeff.Bonwick@Sun.COM> 6754011 SPA 3.0: lock breakup, i/o pipeline refactoring, device failure handling
6667208 zfs/zpool commands on failed pool should not hang
6430480 grabbing config lock as writer during I/O load can take excessively long
87db74c14be24ab4c463ce6ddb7127e271c647bf 10-Jan-2008 ek110237 <none@none> 6649150 add kstats to the vdev cache
e05725b117836db173257fae43fb0746eb857fb5 28-Nov-2007 bonwick <none@none> 6354519 stack overflow in zfs due to zio pipeline
6533726 single-threaded checksum & parity calculations limit write bandwidth
6547248 ztest detects a future leak when there is none
6604198 zfs only using single cpu for compression (part II)

--HG--
rename : usr/src/uts/common/fs/zfs/rprwlock.c => deleted_files/usr/src/uts/common/fs/zfs/rprwlock.c
rename : usr/src/uts/common/fs/zfs/sys/rprwlock.h => deleted_files/usr/src/uts/common/fs/zfs/sys/rprwlock.h
fdb2e90695550660e500ed27553dfc73b1f3f902 11-Jul-2007 ek110237 <none@none> 6437054 vdev_cache wises up: increase DB performance by 16%
3d7072f8bd27709dba14f6fe336f149d25d9e207 12-Jun-2007 eschrock <none@none> PSARC 2007/197 ZFS hotplug
PSARC 2007/283 FMA for ZFS Phase 2
6401126 ZFS DE should verify that diagnosis is still valid before solving cases
6500545 ZFS does not handle changes in devids
6508521 zpool online should warn when it is being used incorrectly
6509807 ZFS checksum ereports are not being posted
6514712 zfs_nicenum() doesn't work with perfectly-sized buffers
6520510 media state doesn't get updated properly on device removal
6520513 ZFS should have better support for device removal
6520514 vdev state should be controlled through a single ioctl()
6520519 ZFS should diagnose faulty devices
6520947 ZFS DE should close cases which no longer apply
6521393 ZFS case timeout should be FMD_TYPE_TIME
6521624 fmd_hash_walk() can dump core when given a bad address
6521946 ZFS DE needlessly subscribes to faults
6522085 ZFS dictionary files contain spelling errors
6523185 vdev_reopen() doesn't correctly propagate state
6523555 'zpool online' should be less chatty unless something goes wrong
6527379 zpool(1M) should not try to open faulted devices
6527700 ZFS should post a sysevent when topology changes
6528194 lofi should support force unmap and DKIO_DEV_GONE
6528732 ZFS should store physical device path in addition to /dev path
6532635 ZFS keeps devices open unnecessarily
6532979 bad argument to ZFS_IOC_VDEV_ATTACH can panic system
6567983 deadlock with spa_scrub_thread() and spa_namespace_lock
614409b5be5411058e7e9b6cc93dddaff9fb13f7 03-Nov-2006 ahrens <none@none> 6472021 vdev knobs can not be turned
ea8dc4b6d2251b437950c0056bc626b311c73c27 04-Mar-2006 eschrock <none@none> PSARC 2006/077 zpool clear
PSARC 2006/139 FMA for ZFS
6284889 arc should replace the znode cache
6333006 DMU & DSL should not panic upon I/O error
6333092 concurrent reads to a file not scaling with number of readers
6338081 ZFS/FMA phase 1
6338386 need persistent error log
6341326 i/o error causes arc buf hash table corruption
6341639 zfs backup/restore should compute/verify checksum of backup stream
6348002 out of space due to changing properties
6354724 inaccurate error message from zfs restore
6354872 dmu_sync() blows predictive accounting
6355416 zpool scrubbing consumes all memory, system hung
6363995 df should only load libzfs when it encounters a ZFS filesystem
6366320 zfs backup/restore doesn't like signals
6368892 mount -m support needed for legacy mounts
6368902 boot archive fstat support needed for ZFS Mountroot
6369424 BFU complains when bfu'ing a ZFS root filesystem
6374062 mountroot support needed for ZFS
6376356 dirtying dbuf obj=43 lvl=0 blkid=0 but not tx_held
6378391 unused members of dmu_objset_stats_t
6378392 clean up zfs_cmd_t structure
6378685 buf_init should allocate its hash table more carefully
6378976 ziltest should be a first class citizen
6381086 zdb segfaults if there is a spa deferred-free bplist
6381203 deadlock due to i/o while assigning (tc_lock held)
6381209 freed space is not immediately available
6381344 'zpool clear'
6381345 FAULTED devices should really be UNAVAIL
6381346 import should mark devices as persistently unavailable
6383272 recursive mutex_enter() during log replay with zfs root
6386326 origin property is not displayed
6386354 libzfs does too much in its _init section, calls exit(1)
6386624 zpool should not complain about non-existent devices from libdiskmgt
6386910 spa needs to be i/o error hardened
6387735 need a mechanism to inject faults into ZFS
6387736 internal ZFS utilities should be placed in an ON-private package
6389928 libzfs should ship a lint library
6390609 malformed vdev config panics on zpool_create()
6390677 version number checking makes upgrades challenging
6390713 ztest hangs in zil_suspend()
6391873 metadata compression should be turned back on
6392113 ztest sometimes reports leaked blocks because ZIL isn't resilvered
6393004 minor memory leak in unique_insert()
fa9e4066f08beec538e775443c5be79dd423fcab 31-Oct-2005 ahrens <none@none> PSARC 2002/240 ZFS
6338653 Integrate ZFS
PSARC 2004/652 - DKIOCFLUSH
5096886 Write caching disks need mechanism to flush cache to physical media