History log of /illumos-gate/usr/src/uts/common/fs/zfs/sys/zil.h
Revision Date Author Comments
eb633035c80613ec93d62f90482837adaaf21a0a 25-Jun-2019 Tom Caputi <tcaputi@datto.com> 8727 Native data and metadata encryption for zfs
Portions contributed by: Jorgen Lundman <lundman@lundman.net>
Portions contributed by: Jerry Jelinek <jerry.jelinek@joyent.com>
Portions contributed by: Paul Zuchowski <pzuchowski@datto.com>
Portions contributed by: Tim Chase <tim@chase2k.com>
Portions contributed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Portions contributed by: ab-oe <arkadiusz.bubala@open-e.com>
Portions contributed by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Portions contributed by: loli10K <ezomori.nozomu@gmail.com>
Portions contributed by: Igor K <igor@dilos.org>
Portions contributed by: Richard Laager <rlaager@wiktel.com>
Reviewed by: Jason Cohen <jwittlincohen@gmail.com>
Reviewed by: Allan Jude <allanjude@freebsd.org>
Reviewed by: George Melikov <mail@gmelikov.ru>
Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie <pcd@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: RageLtMan <rageltman@sempervictus>
Reviewed by: Matthew Thode <prometheanfire@gentoo.org>
Reviewed by: Giuseppe Di Natale <dinatale2@llnl.gov>
Reviewed by: Kash Pande <kash@tripleback.net>
Reviewed by: Alek Pinchuk <apinchuk@datto.com>
Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: David Quigley <david.quigley@intel.com>
Reviewed by: Jorgen Lundman <lundman@lundman.net>
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Reviewed by: Toomas Soome <tsoome@me.com>
Reviewed by: C Fraire <cfraire@me.com>
Reviewed by: Jason King <jason.king@joyent.com>
Reviewed by: Andy Stormont <astormont@racktopsystems.com>
Approved by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>
54811da5ac6b517992fdc173df5d605e4e61fdc0 06-Oct-2018 Toomas Soome <tsoome@me.com> 8423 Implement large_dnode pool feature
8199 multi-threaded dmu_object_alloc()
7432 Large dnode pool feature
Reviewed by: Jerry Jelinek <jerry.jelinek@joyent.com>
Reviewed by: Jason King <jason.king@joyent.com>
Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@joyent.com>
5cabbc6b49070407fb9610cfe73d4c0e0dea3e77 22-Sep-2016 Prashanth Sreenivasa <pks@delphix.com> 7614 zfs device evacuation/removal
Reviewed by: Alex Reece <alex@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: John Kennedy <john.kennedy@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Richard Laager <rlaager@wiktel.com>
Reviewed by: Tim Chase <tim@chase2k.com>
Approved by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>
94ddd0900a8838f62bba15e270649a42f4ef9f81 07-Dec-2017 Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com> 8909 8585 can cause a use-after-free kernel panic
Reviewed by: John Kennedy <jwk404@gmail.com>
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Brad Lewis <brad.lewis@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Igor Kozhukhov <igor@dilos.org>
Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
3f7978d02b206a6ebc5652c91aa9f42da6fbe00c 19-Apr-2017 Alan Somers <asomers@gmail.com> 8081 Compiler warnings in zdb
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
Approved by: Richard Lowe <richlowe@richlowe.net>
1271e4b10dfaaed576c08a812f466f6e81370e5e 07-Jul-2017 Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com> 8585 improve batching done in zil_commit()
Reviewed by: Brad Lewis <brad.lewis@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Matt Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@joyent.com>
c5ee46810f82e8a53d2cc5a487568a573f449039 03-Nov-2016 Alexander Motin <mav@FreeBSD.org> 7578 Fix/improve some aspects of ZIL writing.
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Andriy Gapon <avg@FreeBSD.org>
Reviewed by: Steven Hartland <steven.hartland@multiplay.co.uk>
Reviewed by: Brad Lewis <brad.lewis@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Richard Elling <Richard.Elling@RichardElling.com>
Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
b7b2590dd9f11b12a0b4878db3886068cce176af 24-Apr-2017 Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com> 8063 verify that we do not attempt to access inactive txg
Reviewed by: Serapheim Dimitropoulos <serapheim@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Pavel Zakharov <pavel.zakharov@delphix.com>
Approved by: Robert Mustacchi <rm@joyent.com>
c3d26abc9ee97b4f60233556aadeb57e0bd30bb9 07-Feb-2016 Matthew Ahrens <matt@mahrens.org> 5027 zfs large block support (add copyright)
12380e1e701fda28c9e9f32d01cafb54af279eb5 06-May-2015 Arne Jansen <jansen@webgods.de> 5269 zpool import slow
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@omniti.com>
Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@omniti.com>
b515258426fed6c7311fd3f1dea697cfbd4085c6 07-Nov-2014 Matthew Ahrens <matt@mahrens.org> 5027 zfs large block support
Reviewed by: Alek Pinchuk <pinchuk.alek@gmail.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Josef 'Jeff' Sipek <josef.sipek@nexenta.com>
Reviewed by: Richard Elling <richard.elling@richardelling.com>
Reviewed by: Saso Kiselkov <skiselkov.ml@gmail.com>
Reviewed by: Brian Behlendorf <behlendorf1@llnl.gov>
Approved by: Dan McDonald <danmcd@omniti.com>
f7170741490edba9d1d9c697c177c887172bc741 11-Jun-2013 Will Andrews <will@firepipe.net> 3742 zfs comments need cleaner, more consistent style
Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Eric Schrock <eric.schrock@delphix.com>
Approved by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
3b2aab18808792cbd248a12f1edf139b89833c13 28-Feb-2013 Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com> 3464 zfs synctask code needs restructuring
Reviewed by: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Adam Leventhal <ahl@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <christopher.siden@delphix.com>
Approved by: Garrett D'Amore <garrett@damore.org>
ce636f8b38e8c9ff484e880d9abb27251a882860 21-Aug-2012 Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com> 3086 unnecessarily setting DS_FLAG_INCONSISTENT on async destroyed datasets
Reviewed by: Christopher Siden <chris.siden@delphix.com>
Approved by: Eric Schrock <Eric.Schrock@delphix.com>
51bd2f974defeffad92baed420db2d05d55e1481 26-Jun-2010 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> 6913010 assertion failed: error||lr->lr_length <= zp->z_blksz, file: ../../common/fs/zfs/zfs_vnops.c (fix 32bit build)
5002558f6bfef3915c7f3b4ecb7c19c7f044bf5b 25-Jun-2010 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> 6913010 assertion failed: error||lr->lr_length <= zp->z_blksz, file: ../../common/fs/zfs/zfs_vnops.c
6620948 slow progress with stress tests
6478419 Should push all synchronous transactions in zil_commit_writer()
6916723 ZIL: Unnecessary scanning of the intent log tx chain.
6598837 zil_commit() might wait unnecessarily
6535172 zil_sync causing long hold times on zl_lock
6916703 ZIL: race on setting z_last_itx
6579989 zl_lock hold time can still be improved
55da60b91d96984f12de050ce428373ea25c7f35 03-May-2010 Mark J Musante <Mark.Musante@Sun.COM> PSARC/2010/108 zil synchronicity
6280630 zil synchronicity
Contributed by Robert Milkowski <milek@task.gda.pl>
6e1f5caa9321646aa4212d48e32a0d241866d85d 17-Feb-2010 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> 6595532 ZIL is too talkative
6388458 zil need not inflate blocksize that much
6738159 slog can probably pack 2X more data per lwb
6897432 ziltest_noslog fails after dedup putback
6911570 Shouldn't start an ereport on speculative read failure
6920442 ZIL: Should use the stronger checksum fletcher4
fd1368791be99c4a6354fa81f08408c2dbf4b444 30-Nov-2009 Matthew Ahrens <Matthew.Ahrens@Sun.COM> 6905188 panic: kernel heap corruption when doing "zfs rename -r"
b24ab6762772a3f6a89393947930c7fa61306783 01-Nov-2009 Jeff Bonwick <Jeff.Bonwick@Sun.COM> PSARC 2009/571 ZFS Deduplication Properties
6677093 zfs should have dedup capability
975c32a05c38c6fa808592dd35fa6dba183ca077 15-Oct-2009 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> 6880764 fsync on zfs is broken if writes are greater than 32kb on a hard crash and no log attached
6793430 zdb -ivvvv assertion failure: bp->blk_cksum.zc_word[2] == dmu_objset_id(zilog->zl_os)
e09fa4dacfb671e707d50a55ae9b5cc191e1b8cb 14-Aug-2009 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> PSARC 2009/423 ZFS logbias property
6832481 ZFS separate intent log bypass property
e6ca193ded880d478cc39e34ef82d4be36e4445d 22-May-2009 George Wilson <George.Wilson@Sun.COM> 6803605 should be able to offline log devices
6726045 vdev_deflate_ratio is not set when offlining a log device
6599442 zpool import has faults in the display
510b6c0e09388dd3bd75e2d1afd0f1ef80a7f440 20-Apr-2009 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> 6773224 zvol_log_write() is inefficient
6797713 zfs_log_write() and zvol_log_write() could share logic
6825801 itx_sync picks up garbage for zvols
3589c4f01c20349ca65899d209cdc0c17a641433 06-Mar-2009 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> 6462803 zfs snapshot -r failed because filesystem was busy
1209a471b5681c43d839d4b890f708f500da7346 25-Nov-2008 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> 6765294 Refactor replay
a6e57bd4c7a2bf9cc33be939d674d4c7d3e67cce 18-Sep-2008 Neil Perrin <Neil.Perrin@Sun.COM> 6741237 zfs hang in txg_wait_open() on boot
b87f3af36bb994656da117319f5129ddfd05ed21 05-Aug-2008 perrin <none@none> PSARC 2008/486 Intent log replay failure handling
6707530 log device failure needs some work
abf76b6e4d85aa239adaaf63d27232cc4d65d9f0 28-Feb-2008 perrin <none@none> 6658511 zl_itx_list_sz incorrect for WR_NEED_COPY writes
17f17c2df4ca603e787c5fc03b7af83519edfd2c 14-Dec-2007 bonwick <none@none> 6640580 spa_get_random() is insanely slow in userland
6640559 db_last_dirty list may be updated incorrectly
6640582 zio_checksum_sha256() incorrect if buffer size not a multiple of 64
6550653 uberblock should be saved on more top levels
6640570 ZIL doesn't flush ditto block writes
6640578 some zio flags lost during I/O retry
6632372 ZFS label writing/checksumming hurts scalability of large configs
569e6c63191416b7413c148fd5a6194a0b820b2c 08-Nov-2007 marks <none@none> 6624956 zfs_log_fuid_ids can cause panic on sparc
6626168 zfs can incorrectly log uids for failed mappings
6626566 zfs ace splitting not working quite right
da6c28aaf62fa55f0fdb8004aa40f88f23bf53f0 25-Oct-2007 amw <none@none> PSARC/2007/218 caller_context_t in all VOPs
PSARC/2007/227 VFS Feature Registration and ACL on Create
PSARC/2007/244 ZFS Case-insensitive support
PSARC/2007/315 Extensible Attribute Interfaces
PSARC/2007/394 ls(1) new command line options '-/' and '-%': CIFS system attributes support
PSARC/2007/403 Modified Access Checks for CIFS
PSARC/2007/410 Add system attribute support to chmod(1)
PSARC/2007/432 CIFS system attributes support for cp(1), pack(1), unpack(1), compress(1) and uncompress(1)
PSARC/2007/444 Rescind SETTABLE Attribute
PSARC/2007/459 CIFS system attributes support for cpio(1), pax(1), tar(1)
PSARC/2007/546 Update utilities to match CIFS system attributes changes.
PSARC/2007/560 ZFS sharesmb property
4890717 want append-only files
6417428 Case-insensitive file system name lookup to support CIFS
6417435 DOS attributes and additional timestamps to support for CIFS
6417442 File system quarantined and modified attributes to support an integrated Anti-Virus service
6417453 FS boolean property for rejecting/allowing invalid UTF-8 sequences in file names
6473733 RFE: Need support for open-deny modes
6473755 RFE: Need ability to reconcile oplock and delegation conflicts
6494624 sharemgr needs to support CIFS shares better
6546705 All vnode operations need to pass caller_context_t
6546706 Need VOP_SETATTR/VOP_GETATTR to support new, optional attributes
6546893 Solaris system attribute support
6550962 ZFS ACL inheritance needs to be enhanced to support Automatic Inheritance
6553589 RFE: VFS Feature Registration facility
6553770 RFE: ZFS support for ACL-on-CREATE (PSARC 2007/227)
6565581 ls(1) should support file system attributes proposed in PSARC/2007/315
6566784 NTFS streams are not copied along with the files.
6576205 cp(1), pack(1) and compress(1) should support file system attributes proposed in PSARC/2007/315
6578875 RFE: kernel interfaces for nbmand need improvement
6578883 RFE: VOP_SHRLOCK needs additional access types
6578885 chmod(1) should support file system attributes proposed in PSARC/2007/315
6578886 RFE: disallow nbmand state to change on remount
6583349 ACL parser needs to support audit/alarm ACE types
6590347 tar(1) should support filesystem attributes proposed in PSARC/2007/315
6597357 *tar* xv@ doesn't show the hidden directory even though it is restored
6597360 *tar* should re-init xattr info if openat() fails during extraction of and extended attribute
6597368 *tar* cannot restore hard linked extended attributes
6597374 *tar* doesn't display "x " when hard linked attributes are restored
6597375 *tar* extended attribute header off by one
6614861 *cpio* incorrectly archives extended system attributes with -@
6614896 *pax* incorrectly archives extended system attributes with -@
6615225 *tar* incorrectly archives extended system attributes with -@
6617183 CIFS Service - PSARC 2006/715
3a8a1de4a7950ac5cf7ca65f761e324145e7237b 23-Aug-2007 perrin <none@none> 6534949 Stale need for range locking comment in zvol.c
6562988 ZIL replay fails when filesystem is mounted read-only
6580645 cannot rollback filesystems with unplayed intent log records
893a6d32980d24be1349478f44169009d4801c25 22-Jan-2007 ahrens <none@none> 6514331 in-memory delete queue is not needed
67bd71c6cc629bab3aa0d595c624a667f1574254 04-Nov-2006 perrin <none@none> 6341569 zio_alloc_blk() vdev distribution performs badly
6428639 large writes to zvol synchs too much, better cut down a little
6444692 Need to flush disk write cache for dmu_sync buffers
6465634 zvol: dmu_sync() should be issued in parallel
6468731 lwb_state_t can be nuked
6470042 parallel dmu_sync() isn't being used
6471679 stash blocksize in zvol_state_t rather than reading in every zvol_log_write
6472230 ZIL vdev management is inefficient
6473775 zil_commit changes in snv_48 make it hot for O_DSYNC workloads
6478388 ZIL replay takes too long causing issues while booting
6486390 zil_commit could push more transactions
6486496 zil_replay() useful debug
b19a79ec1a527828a60c4d325ccd8dcbeb2b2e8b 29-Aug-2006 perrin <none@none> 6413510 zfs: writing to ZFS filesystem slows down fsync() on other files in the same FS
6453172 ztest turns into a sloth due to massive arc_min_prefetch_lifespan
c5c6ffa0498b9c8555798756141b4a3061a138c1 20-Jun-2006 maybee <none@none> 6416482 filebench oltp workload hangs in zfs
6440499 zil should avoid txg_wait_synced() and use dmu_sync() to issue parallel IOs when fsyncing
1d452cf5123cb6ac0a013a4dbd4dcceeb0da314d 15-Jun-2006 ahrens <none@none> PSARC 2006/388 snapshot -r
6373978 want to take lots of snapshots quickly ('zfs snapshot -r')
b4d654b017879b2de918ec2b934d04fbea6c4e62 20-Apr-2006 perrin <none@none> 6413731 pathologically slower fsync on 32 bit systems
d80c45e0f58fa434ba37259ea2e2b12e0380c19a 13-Apr-2006 bonwick <none@none> 6410711 intent log blocks don't get invited to pool parties
104e2ed78d9ef0a0f89f320108b8ca29ca3850d5 23-Mar-2006 perrin <none@none> 6343608 ZFS file range locking
6365101 zfs: copying from NFS to ZFS makes ksh response very sluggish
6393003 System hung -- out of memory (kernel va) due to zil's itx_t's
6393671 deadlock between dnlc_reduce_cache() and zfs_zget()
6399298 system seems to be spinning in dnlc_reduce_cache()
436b29506c99a8bfdb7aac4045f2b913bb0ac8ef 20-Mar-2006 perrin <none@none> 6393443 Remove remaining txg_wait_synced() from zfs unmount path.
fa9e4066f08beec538e775443c5be79dd423fcab 31-Oct-2005 ahrens <none@none> PSARC 2002/240 ZFS
6338653 Integrate ZFS
PSARC 2004/652 - DKIOCFLUSH
5096886 Write caching disks need mechanism to flush cache to physical media